Betfred World Matchplay Draw: Littler drifts in market after drawing MVG

 | Thursday 4th July 2024, 10:24am

Thursday 4th July 2024, 10:24am

World Matchplay

It's almost time for one of the showpiece events of the darting calendar, as the PDC roadshow rolls into Blackpool for the prestigious Betfred World Matchplay. As title sponsors, we will have plenty of coverage of the tournament including an outright preview and daily tipping pieces from our star darts tipster Sean Rafferty, as well as interviews and reaction from the Winter Gardens. 

First though, there's the little matter of the Betfred World Matchplay draw, which takes place live on Betfred TV, PDC Youtube and Betfred Twitter and Facebook channels at 12pm on Thursday 4th July. We've also taken a look at the early odds to win the Phil Taylor Trophy.

Betfred World Matchplay Odds

  • Luke Humphries @ 7/2
  • Luke Littler @ 4/1
  • Gerwyn Price @ 7/1
  • Michael van Gerwen @ 9/1
  • Rob Cross @ 14/1
  • Michael Smith @ 16/1
  • Gary Anderson @ 16/1
  • 25/1 Bar

History, Location and Format

The 2024 Betfred World Matchplay is the 31st edition of this PDC event and the tournament, as always, is being held at the iconic Winter Gardens in Blackpool, with this year's event running from the 13th to 21st July and will be shown live on Sky Sports.

The tournament was introduced in 1994 and has since gone on to establish itself as one of the most sought after titles and most exciting televisual spectacles in the sport.

The matchplay format of legs rather than sets means that you are never really out of a match and can result in some incredible comebacks.

Despite the tournament running for 30 years, there have been just 12 winners in its history, with Phil Taylor winning the title an incredible 16 times and the only other multiple winners being Michael van Gerwen (three times) and Rod Harrington (twice).

The field is comprised of 32 players, with the top 16 players on the PDC Order of Merit at the cut-off point on 7th July seeded for the tournament. The top 16 players on the ProTour Order of Merit, not to have already qualified on the cut-off date will be unseeded.

Nathan Aspinall is the defending champion after defeating Jonny Clayton 18-6 in the 2023 final.

Prize Money

There is a total prize fund of £800,000 on offer to the 32 participants.

Finishing Position Prize Money
Winner £200,000
Runner-up £100,000
Semi-Finalists £50,000
Quarter-Finalists £30,000
Last 16 £15,000
Last 32 £10,000


The draw took place on the 4th July and was streamed live on X, Facebook and in all Betfred shops from 12pm.

World matchplay draw

Betfred World Matchplay Odds

Young superstar and Premier League champion Luke Littler has drifted in the betting into second favourite after drawing three-time winner and second seed Michael van Gerwen in the first round. World Champion Luke Humphries is your new favourite after picking up a relatively straightforward draw in German Ricardo Pietreczko.

Other market movers are 2022 runner up Gerwyn Price, who has drawn Daryl Gurney in his first match. Rob Cross is a drifter after being matched with up and coming Dutch youngster Gian van Veen.

You can find all our darts tipster Sean Rafferty's latest Darts Betting Tips on our main Insights content hub.

Share Article

(Visited 1,491 times, 1 visits today)